Append text to end of every line

I've scoured the internet with mixed results. As an amateur I turn to the great minds here.

I have a text file of 80 or so lines. I want to add ".pdf" to the end of each line. (For now that's it)

Most of the internet points toward using "sed". I don't know coding but can figure things out (enough to paint myself into a corner). The closest I've gotten is:

sed 's/$/.pdf/' input

which will print within the shell:

lastlineofinput.pdf

instead of appending ".pdf" to each line within the file.

awk '{NR==1?s=$0 : s=s".pdf"$0}END{print s}' input.txt
did the same thing.

Operators are largely beyond me. I see different solutions involving different amounts of single and double quotations and I'm not sure which ones I should use.

I have had success with finding and replacing text using sed.

sed s/'text1'/'text2'/g inputfile.txt > outputfile.txt

that's a lot more than I knew before today, though admittedly more straightforward (it appears).

The closest I came was one bit of code (I forgot which now) that inserted a period to the end of the very last line. Nowhere else.

My goal is to go from this:

/02/pdf/01
/02/pdf/02
/02/pdf/03
/02/pdf/04
/02/pdf/05
/02/pdf/06

to this:
/02/pdf/01.pdf
/02/pdf/02.pdf
/02/pdf/03.pdf
/02/pdf/04.pdf
/02/pdf/05.pdf
/02/pdf/06.pdf

I'm on a Mac using Terminal so I don't know what I'm doing and appreciate any help. Thank you!

awk '{ print $0 ".pdf" }' < input > output

Hi,

Your 'sed' command works in my Linux box. It's an easy work for Perl too.

$ cat infile
/02/pdf/01
/02/pdf/02
/02/pdf/03
/02/pdf/04
/02/pdf/05
/02/pdf/06
$ sed 's/$/.pdf/' infile
/02/pdf/01.pdf
/02/pdf/02.pdf
/02/pdf/03.pdf
/02/pdf/04.pdf
/02/pdf/05.pdf
/02/pdf/06.pdf
$ perl -ne 'chomp; printf "%s.pdf\n", $_' infile 
/02/pdf/01.pdf
/02/pdf/02.pdf
/02/pdf/03.pdf
/02/pdf/04.pdf
/02/pdf/05.pdf
/02/pdf/06.pdf

Regards,
Birei

Thank you both for the quick replies. Using:

and

$ perl -ne 'chomp; printf "%s.pdf\n", $_' infile