Apache 2.2 on Ubuntu 8.10

Hello,

Does anyone know or know how to check if the Apache 2.2 version you can get with the Synaptic Package manager in Ubuntu 8.10has been optimized for 486 or higher processors?

I would think one would have to optimize the executable for 486 or higher processer baed on the Apache optimization guide below. I am a little new to Apache so I do not know if I have to do what they say below since I run on a processor greater than a 496(it is a little confuzing). Any advice?

Atomic Operations

Some modules, such as mod_cache and recent development builds of the worker MPM, use APR's atomic API. This API provides atomic operations that can be used for lightweight thread synchronization.

By default, APR implements these operations using the most efficient mechanism available on each target OS/CPU platform. Many modern CPUs, for example, have an instruction that does an atomic compare-and-swap (CAS) operation in hardware. On some platforms, however, APR defaults to a slower, mutex-based implementation of the atomic API in order to ensure compatibility with older CPU models that lack such instructions. If you are building Apache for one of these platforms, and you plan to run only on newer CPUs, you can select a faster atomic implementation at build time by configuring Apache with the --enable-nonportable-atomics option:

./buildconf
./configure --with-mpm=worker --enable-nonportable-atomics=yes

The --enable-nonportable-atomics option is relevant for the following platforms:

* Solaris on SPARC
  By default, APR uses mutex-based atomics on Solaris/SPARC. If you configure with --enable-nonportable-atomics, however, APR generates code that uses a SPARC v8plus opcode for fast hardware compare-and-swap. If you configure Apache with this option, the atomic operations will be more efficient \(allowing for lower CPU utilization and higher concurrency\), but the resulting executable will run only on UltraSPARC chips.
* Linux on x86