AIX 7.1 Login Terminal

Hi there, I am a newbie in AIX. I have reboot the AIX today and then the CDE login screen disappear. :eek:I have reboot several times and still it only shows the terminal (lft0) with only green characters and black screen:confused:. Anyway I can have the CDE login screen back?:confused:

Also, as I need to reset the root password for another AIX7.1... (just received from the vendor and they didn't give me the root password:mad:), may I ask how can I get the fix packs without an IBM client no or any method I can reset it without the installation media? :confused:

Hope u guys can help me out. Thanks!

Firstly I must say that I don't have an AIX 7 server. The CDE is controlled by the dtlogin daemon. The command to run is:-

/usr/dt/bin/dtlogin -daemon

It is usual to have a script in /etc/rc.d/rc2.d called S99dtlogin or similar to do this for you when the server boots. Note the capital S marks this be run with a parameter start during the boot.

This might be in rc3.d if your run-level is 3. Check this by looking at /etc/inittab

grep initdefault /etc/inittab

Separately, have a look at this for an IBM AIX root password resetYou should get a list of useful sites and even a you-tube video walking you through the process. For this reason you must keep your console (physical serial console, serial console server or HMC managed) very secure.

I hope that this helps,
Robin

1 Like

This is correct but starting it directly is only a one-time solution. The way to set the default environment permanently is the command dtconfig . For the documentation see here. For a minimum you need two commands, both need to be issued as root:

dtconfig -d       # disables CDE login
dtconfig -e       # enables CDE login

I hope this helps.

bakunin

2 Likes

thanks both of your reply!

I just found that the my default boot is rc.2, however I just saw these file in /etc/rc.d/rc2.d:

# ls
K71itcaTivoliCommonAgent0  Kwpars                     S71itcaTivoliCommonAgent0