A DT Message error on login... other symptoms

First let me apologize for joining and posting... but this thing is killing me. I can usually solve these problems myself but I am reaching for help now. I have about 2 years Unix 8 experience but I am by no means an expert but not a newb either.

A little background.

My system runs a particular program, the program I can't really talk about but it runs on unix 8 so that's why I am asking you all for help. I got a call saying my system isn't working and they need a fix. I told them to recover from the backup tapes, they did. Same error. The error is on bootup /etc/hostname.eri0, /etc/hostname.eri1, and /etc/nodename cannot be found and/or are corrupted. The system goes onto login but once the info is entered I get the "DT message cannot be started" and to enter failsafe (which gives the same error) and cycles back to the login screen.

The files are correct, I confirmed this personally. The drive is ok, I swapped them and same error. The drive in question booted up fine on another identical system, which led me to believe it was the processor card. (They are connected by SCSI btw). Swapped the processor card, same error! I am at a loss at what would cause this.

I am sorry for the long post, and I probably left out important information that you would need to make an educated guess. Any ideas?

P.S. - Same error when you login as root. The permissions on the files have not changed and this system has worked for 1.5 years fine now, why the sudden failure??

Thank you all in advance.

What is the desktop? CDE?

Yes it is a CDE.

Check that the ToolTalk daemon is starting up.